Victor Frankenstein Movie Review

image

Title: Victor Frankenstein
Release date: November 26, 2015
Director: Paul McGuian
Starring: Danielle Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Sci-Fi

I know, it’s an on old movie. It was released half a year ago. But I just watched it last week. So, I wanna share my thoughts regarding the movie hahaha!

PLOT

It’s basically the background story of how the world-famous monster, Frankenstein, came about and the two people behind it. Unnamed person from the circus (Danielle Radcliffe) was secretly fascinated by human anatomy. When his crush accidentally fell and almost died from a circus act, he did manage to revive her using his knowledge. A man named Victor Frankenstein witnessed that and helped him escape circus life to live with him as his assistant. He was cured of his hunchback state and was given the name Igor, the name of Frankenstein’s dead assistant, to hide his identity. Knowing that Igor was good in anatomy, he invited him to be his partner in creating life after death. Frankenstein believed that since life is temporal, death must also be a temporary thing. And through science and electricity, they can revive the dead.

Igor accepted the offer and they started to collect body parts from dead animals to make a zombified monkey. It did not turn out well and it had to be put down because it was causing chaos. Frankenstein thought that making an intelligent human being would be a better plan, however, Igor did not agree at first seeing the horrors the zombified monkey experiment resulted into. In the end, he pitied Frankenstein and they started to make the famous Frankenstein.

A lot of things happened, but in the end Frankenstein realized that though his “man” is alive, it does not contain “life” and they had to kill it. At the end of the story, Frankenstein left Igor to just do the experiment on his own (since even after seeing all the horrors trying to create life after death can do, he was still crazy to continue his passion) and was shown somewhere distant holding a new plan for the new Frankenstein to have a brain.

image

PLOT REVIEW

Well, it’s good but it’s not like the kind of movie the would get famous in cinemas. It’s interesting in it’s own way. I especially love how the movie engaged its audience by relating to Igor. It’s like Igor is the persona of the audience and Frankenstein is the subject. At the start of the movie, you’d think that Frankenstein is a great, knowledgeable man who would go to places with his ideas. You’d love and adore his character. As the story progresses, you’d realize that Frankenstein is getting crazy and is out of control to further pursue the experiment. At the end of the movie, I got disappointed on Frankenstein for still wanting to continue the experiment, but I guess I accepted afterwards that it’s just the way he is. Meh! ┌( ಠ_ಠ)┘

image

ACTING

I love it a hundred percent! James looked perfect for the role of a mad scientist.  And Radcliffe, I gotta admit, I was impressed *claps*. Well, I don’t know any of his movies other than Harry Potter. So, this was the first time I saw him as someone else. And his first character (the Hunchback) was a very Johnny Depp-ish character for me. I was like “Wow. That’s a role Johnny Depp would play”. He also executed the role perfectly and his acting was just great!

image

image

AUDIENCE ENGAGEMENT

Again, first I think that it was a good job for the movie to engage the audience to what Igor feels – adoring Frankenstein to later on thinking of him as a scientist out of control yet accepting and appreciating his passion. Other than that, I think the movie had a pretty good audience engagement. I was literally not looking off screen. I can’t even pour a Coke into the glass because my eyes won’t let me. The plot was not slow, it was very well-paced. So, I’ll give a thumbs up for that!

image

image

THEME

I guess bringing life after death is its main theme. Frankenstein thought both life and death are only temporal states and you can actually mess with nature and just bring people back to life. Now, Christianity is totally against it and it was also shown in the movie. The christian police/detective was trying to stop him and warn him that Frankenstein’s experiment is unholy.

Now, I read the movie as showing that Frankenstein’s experiment is indeed unholy. All the work he did became brainless monsters. In other words, nothing good came out from his experiments. Trying to give life from death or trying to make your own man (and Frankenstein’s words were “from our own image”) did nothing good.

image

image

CONCLUSION

It was a good movie – very engaging, interesting, acting was good, etc. I just don’t think it’s a movie worthy to get famous for some reason. Maybe it’s because of its simple plot of the story of  making the Frankenstein. I think that, in its own way, genre, kind of movie, plot, I’d rate it 5/5. But since its really just about making Frankenstein (portrayed in a nice way), the plot would definitely bring my ratings down if I were comparing it to the overall movie experience. I’d rate it:

image

It was a good movie, and I said a lot of positive feedbacks about it. But it’s not a movie worth-remembering.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

